Climate-safe Living

Activist recycles proven methods of sustainability

In Demand, Eliminate, Enviroment, Reduce on November 11, 2012 at 4:02 pm

‘I finally got it,” she recalls. ”I realised the way I was living was not just expensive but completely unsustainable.”

She started taking small steps at home.

The 4WD was sold and replaced with a bus ticket, although she concedes that public transport on the northern beaches is ”not fantastic”.

Appliances were routinely switched off at the outlet.

Reusable shopping bags replaced plastic ones.

Shopping lists were planned precisely to reduce wastage and worm farms were brought in for the scraps.

”I got my electricity bill down by 20 per cent, I got my food waste down by 50 per cent,” she said. ”Once I started to take action in my own life and see a tangible result, I took ownership of it.”

via Activist recycles proven methods of sustainability.

Leave a comment